Kumar Vikram

Lok Sabha elections 2019: BJP Navsari candidate biggest winner, many lucky to sail through

 BJP candidates secured victory margins of over 4 lakh or more in several seats but data shows that the contests were not as easy in several others. 

3 hours ago

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Big leap in number of parties participating in polls

The number of political parties contesting the Lok Sabha polls saw a jump in the just-concluded Lok Sabha Elections.

21 May 2019

Exit polls in past failed to read public mood, shows analysis

With just two days left for the mega electoral battle to elect the 17th Lok Sabha to end, everyone is eagerly awaiting the exit poll results.

17 May 2019

Opposition leaders slam EC for cutting short West Bengal campaigning post-Kolkata violence 

Opposition leaders also questioned the duration of ban on campaigning claiming that it has been done to favour the BJP in its campaign in the State.

16 May 2019

Uttar Pradesh: Muslim women happy on government's Triple Talaq stand, but will they vote for BJP?

During conversation most Muslims blamed the BJP for polarisation of society and for interfering in religious matters.

12 May 2019

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Akhilesh Yadav faces superstar challenge on dad’s turf

While SP chief is confident of winning the Azamgarh seat, his rival, Bhojpuri actor Nirahua is hopeful of leveraging his star power

09 May 2019

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Same faces with new parties in Allahabad

The general talk these days, however, veers off to the Kumbh Mela and not the polls, with people recalling how it was efficiently managed by the current BJP government in UP.

08 May 2019

Uttar Pradesh: Caste factor rules in Jawaharlal Nehru’s seat Phulpur

People may talk about the welfare schemes of the current government such as Swachh Bharat and Ujjawala, but when it comes to voting, caste overshadows all other factors.

07 May 2019

30 per cent of poll code violations registered in BJP-ruled UP, says Election Commission

In UP, Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Azam Khan has been mentioned in 12 cases of alleged violations. Final decisions by the EC are awaited in several of these cases.

27 Apr 2019

Ex-bureaucrats write against Sadhvi Pragya Thakur

A group of retired bureaucrats have issued an open statement expressing disbelief and dismay at the candidature of Pragya Thakur for the Bhopal Lok Sabha seat.

25 Apr 2019

Lok Sabha elections 2019: More close finishes likely this time

Even as the 2019 polls are already underway, an analysis of the 2014 harvest has revealed that in as many as 28 seats, the victorious nominees posted a winning margin of fewer than 10,000 votes.

15 Apr 2019

Lok Sabha elections 2019: EC goes tech savvy to curb poll malpractices, MCC violations

The cVigil app has turned out to be an important tool to report electoral malpractices and the Commission has received over 40,000 complaints of violations of Model Code of Conduct (MCC). 

07 Apr 2019

Grey areas in Election Commission poll code report on PM's mission Shakti address: Ex-bureaucrat

CPI (M) leader Sitaram Yechury also wrote to the EC expressing his dissatisfaction over the EC’s stand.

31 Mar 2019

Record cash haul since Lok Sabha election schedule announced

Cash amounting to Rs 143 crore was seized from March 11 to 25, whereas in 2014 a total amount of Rs 300 crore was seized during the entire period when the MCC was in force.

27 Mar 2019

PM Narendra Modi tweaks Rahul’s favourite jibe to coin new election slogan

The BJP now wants to capitalise on it with its new slogan and forge a connect with the common man.  

26 Mar 2019