Modi to Hold First Meeting of Niti Aayog on Feb 6

Published: 27th January 2015 04:44 PM  |   Last Updated: 27th January 2015 04:44 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will spell out the functional roadmap of the newly created Niti Aayog at its first meeting being scheduled on February 6.

The members of the Aayog would have first hand experience of Modi's expectation from the new body and also help them in finalising the plan of action of the new body which was formed on January 1.

"The first meeting of the NITI (National Institution for Transforming India) Aayog is being scheduled on February 6. It is expected to clear the air over the role the new body will play," a source said.

"After the meeting it will be clear, whether the Aayog will be recognised as government body or merely play the role of an economic think tank," the source said.

It is also expected that the meeting will bring more clarity on role Aayog will play in evolving model for revenue generation and expenditure realisation.

The source said that the meeting of the Aayog's governing council comprising all Chief Ministers and Lt. Governors of UTs is being scheduled for February 8.

Modi, who is the Chairman of Aayog, had held a meeting of all chief ministers on December 7 for seeking their views on the new body which had to replace the erstwhile Planning Commission, at his residence.

The source said the meeting on February 6 will also be a precursor to the governing council meeting as agenda would be set during the deliberations.

The NDA government had announced creation of the Aayog to replace the about 65-year old Planning Commission.

The first Vice-Chairman of the Aayog, Arvind Panagariya, and full time member Bibek Debroy had joined earlier this month. The other full time member of body, V K Saraswat is expected to join shortly.

The ex-officio members of Aayog are Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu and Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh.

Aayog's special invitees are Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari,  Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot and Human Resource Development

Minister Smriti Irani.

Stay up to date on all the latest Business news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp