BBMP Ready With List of Voters For Mayoral Election

Out of 260, 28 are MLAs and five MPs and the remaining are Rajya Sabha members and members of the Legislative Council who are registered voters in Bengaluru.

Published: 01st September 2015 05:09 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st September 2015 05:34 AM   |  A+A-


BENGALURU:  The Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) has prepared a list of eligible voters for the mayoral election. According to BBMP officials, the list has been sent to the Regional Commissioner.

BBMP Administrator

bbmp.JPGT M Vijay Bhaskar told Express on Monday that 260 voters are eligible for the election. This translates to 62 voters apart from the 198 elected corporators.

Also read:

Government Manipulating Voters' List, Creating Confusion, Claims BJP

JD(S) Blinks, Ready For Alliance With Congress

JD(S) MLAs Reached Out to us: Reddy

“Out of 260, 28 are MLAs and five MPs. The remaining are Rajya Sabha members and members of the Legislative Council who are registered voters in Bengaluru, and the corporators,” he said.

Asked if nominated members have the right to vote, Bhaskar said they don’t. According to the list, the Congress and the JD(S) together with the Independents have an edge over the BJP.

When contacted, Regional Commissioner  (Bengaluru division) M V Jayanthi said she hasn’t received the list yet. “I can only comment once I get the list, which was supposed to have been sent today,” she said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp