Likely Chiefs for Various Committees

Published: 16th September 2015 05:44 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th September 2015 05:44 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU: Independents who supported the Congress-JD(S) alliance in the BBMP Council are likely to get plum posts in some of the major committees. Of the 12 standing committees, seven members, including six independents and a SDPI member, are getting chairperson posts. Some of the major committees like ward works, town planning and public health will have independent members as chairpersons.

On Wednesday, the mayor is expected to conduct election for chairpersons. Committee members were elected on September 11.

Tentative List

Rajanna (Herohalli ward), Congress: Administration and Reforms

Shivaraj (Shankarmutt ward), Congress: Taxation and Finance

Padmavathi (Prakashnagar), Congress: Education

Anand Kumar (Hoysalanagar ward), independent: Social justice

Elumalai (Sagayapuram), independent: Appeal

Manjula N (Laggere), JD(S): Horticulture

Devdas (BTM Layout), JD(S): Major works

Gayathri (KP Agrahara), independent: Markets

Muzhid Pasha (Siddapura ward), SDPI: Public health

Chandrappa (Konena Agrahara), independent: Ward level works

Lakshminarayan (Domlur), independent: Town Planning

Ramesh (Marathahalli), independent: Accounts

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp