12 Scientists From City Get DRDO Awards

Published: 24th September 2015 04:40 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th September 2015 04:41 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU:Twelve scientists from the city were among those who received the prestigious DRDO Awards for the year 2014 on Wednesday. Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar presented the awards at the DRDO headquarters in New Delhi.

Dr V S Arunachalam, former secretary and scientific adviser to the Defence Minister, was honoured with the DRDO Lifetime Achievement Award. Arunachalam is the founder-chairman of the Centre for Study of Science, Technology and Policy (CSTEP).

P Srikumar, former director of ADE, was presented the Performance Excellence Award. The Scientist of the Year Award was given to Dr K Seetharama Bhat from MTRDC, Dr N S S R K Prasad from ADA, Dr Suresh M from ADE and L Gnana Michael Prakasam from LRDE.

N M Kaverappa, Regional Public Relations Officer, DRDO (South), and A S Manoharan, Senior Technical Officer from CAIR, received the Best Performance Award. The Young Scientist Award was bagged by R Ramlingam of ADE, Mallikarjun Uppar from DARE, David John from GTRE and Ravi Domala from LRDE.

City-based Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE) bagged the Silicon Trophy and the teams led by Desiraju Padma of Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Robotics (CAIR) and J J Jadhav, OS from Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA), won the Agni Award for Excellence in Self-Reliance.

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp