Padma Honours for 11 Hailing from Karnataka

Padma Vibhushan for 2, Padma Shri for 9,including M M Joshi and Dr John Ebenezar.

Published: 26th January 2016 04:45 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th January 2016 04:45 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU:  There are 11 Padma award winners from the state this year with Sri Sri Ravi Shankar and Dr Vasudev Kalkunte Aatre bagging the Padma Vibhushan, the highest honour in the category.

Padma.jpgThe awards will be given across three categories: the Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. For six decades the government has been conferred the awards upon people who have excelled in their fields.The Art of Living foundation’s Sri Sri Ravi Shankar won the award under the others and spiritualism category for the service imparted by his organisation to promote humanitarian values. Sri Sri said he is happy about the award and will receive it from the government.


Boost For Akshaya Patra Team: Dasa

Madhu Pandit Dasa, Chairman of Akshaya Patra Foundation and President of ISKCON Bengaluru has been awarded the Padma Shri in recognition of the service rendered by Akshaya Patra.  Pandit Dasa said, “I dedicate this award to Srila Prabhupada, a true visionary who wanted to see a hunger free world. This award will give encouragement to the Akshaya Patra team. Srila Prabhupada the founder of ISKCON desired no one should go hungry. This award is recognition of our humble service of leading this cause of education among the government schoolchildren.”

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp