Revised Master Plan 2031: Two new Ring Roads, metro routes

Revised Master Plan 2031 proposes extension of Metro routes along Peripheral Ring Road, stresses on better public transport

Published: 26th November 2017 02:54 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th November 2017 11:22 AM   |  A+A-

Image for representational purpose only

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: Targeting a shift to public transport by citizens from the existing 48 percent to 68-70 per cent usage, the Bangalore Development Authority (BDA)’s provisional Master Plan has proposed two new Ring Roads around the existing three Ring Roads, and also two new Metro routes.

The provisional Revised Master Plan 2031 (RMP), made public on Saturday, has proposed Metro routes along the entire Peripheral Ring Road (PRR) that will be developed by BDA in future and extension of the proposed Silk Board to K R Puram route (Metro Phase 2A) to so that the entire Outer Ring Road (ORR) is covered.

According to a reliable source, “We propose covering the entire PRR by Metro to help decongest traffic. We are looking at a distance of 100 km on this stretch to be covered by the Metro network.”  
“The other major Metro network that we have proposed is extending the Phase 2A route from K R Puram to Hebbal-Magadi Road-Mysore Road so that the entire Outer Ring Road can be covered. BMRCL is excited about this proposed route and has reacted favourably,” the source added.

Another move proposed to boost public transport is augmenting the existing BMTC fleet of 6,000 buses to nearly 15,000 with more Transit Transport Management Centres. Bus Rapid Transport System, Light Rail Transit and Mono Rail are also proposed.

Road network expansion  

Two new Ring Roads will encircle the existing three Ring Roads. “The Core Ring Road, Intermediate Ring Road (partly complete now) and the Outer Ring Road will be ringed in by the new Peripheral Ring Road (PRR) and an intermediate road between the ORR and the PRR,” a top BDA official said. The Master Plan also envisages increasing the number of radial roads from the existing 13 to 26.

Mandatory greening

A provision of 10 per cent mandatory green has been proposed for every 2,000 sqkm. Classification of primary, secondary and tertiary drains has been done in line with the orders of the National Green Tribunal.

Three Planning Zones — A, B and C — have been introduced. Commercialisation will be discouraged within Zone A which will encompass areas within the ORR. Zone B will be outside the ORR while Zone C will extend further where agriculture land will be preserved with improved economic returns for farmers.

“The Floor Area Ratios range between 1.5 to 2 and the maximum allowable FAR ranges between 1.5 to 3.2 for residential plots up to 20,000 sqmt.

Special Development Zones have been proposed at Bellary Road, Old Madras Road, Sarjapur Road, Hosur Road and Mysuru Road.

For the first time, 12 heritage zones with special regulations have been introduced.

What is a Master Plan?

A Master Plan offers a blueprint to plan the entire city. All development projects to be undertaken over the next 15 years are charted out. The previous Master Plan 2015 was readied in 2000 and revised in 2003. BDA already put out a draft in January and held 8 public consultations, most of which were stormy with activists questioning its right to do so  and objecting to many of its proposals. It had gone back to the drawing board again and has come out with this Revised Master Plan (RMP) 2031, which is a provisional one.  

Have your say

The Provisional Revised Master Plan -2031 has been displayed on the first floor of the BDA Complex at Banashankari Stage II. It will be available here for public viewing up to January 23, 2018. The Plan is also available on its website Public are invited to send their objections and suggestions to: suggestions.rmp2031

Special Development Zones

Residential facilities, jobs and amenities will be provided in these areas:

  • Bellary Road
  • Old Madras Road
  • Sarjapur Road
  • Hosur Road
  • Mysuru Road

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp