Governor's quota: Four MLCs retiring Friday

Published: 28th March 2013 09:30 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th March 2013 09:30 AM   |  A+A-

With ten Legislative Council seats under the MLAs’ quota and one seat from the Hyderabad Local Authorities Constituency having been filled with elected representatives, all eyes are now on the four seats which governor ESL Narasimhan will fill with nomination.

As the four incumbents under the governor’s quota will be completing their term by March 29, aspirants in the Congress have started hectic lobbying to enter the Upper House of the legislature with governor’s nomination.

From the progeny of political families and veteran politicos to academicians are vying to enter the State Legislative Council under governor’s quota. Prominent among them is educationist and former prime minister PV Narasimha Rao’s daughter S Vani Devi who runs Sri Venkateswara Fine Arts College at Madhapur here. Interestingly,   Rao’s son, PV Ranga Rao, whose term in the Council under governor’s quota is ending on March 29,is also trying for another term.

Former deputy chief minister C Jagannadha Rao’s son Srinivas and former MP R Surender Reddy’s son and chief minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy’s confidant R Raghurami Reddy are also in the race. Raghurami Reddy is said to be Kiran’s choice. Eluru MP Kavuri Sambasiva Rao’s daughter Srinagari is another aspirant to the seat.

Of the veteran politicos trying their luck to enter the Council, PCC disciplinary committee chairman Kanteti Satyanarayana Raju is in the forefront. Former minister Mohammed Fariduddin, PCC spokesman B Kamalakar Rao, former legislator A Vithal Reddy, PCC vice-president Madasu Gangadharam and sitting member Bharati Dheeravat Ragya Naik, whose term is ending by March 29, are also keen to enter the Upper House. Gangadharam is said to have the backing of PCC chief.

PCC IT Cell convener Bhamidipati Ramamurthy, and Union minister K Chiranjeevi’s close aide and former IPS officer DT Naik are also trying their luck.

Two academics _ agricultural scientist Aldas Janaiah (Telangana) and chairman of AP Bio-diversity Cell R Hampaiah (Rayalaseema) _ are in the race for the seat being vacated by agricultural scientist MV Rao (Andhra). It is learnt that Janaiah’s name has been suggested by agriculture minister Kanna Lakshminarayana.

Hampaiah, who played a key role in holding the COP-11 successfully recently, has the backing of former Rajya Sabha member K Kesava Rao.

Stay up to date on all the latest Hyderabad news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp