HMDA to develop 13 urban nodes, 46 urban centres - The New Indian Express

HMDA to develop 13 urban nodes, 46 urban centres

Published: 22nd September 2013 09:51 AM

Last Updated: 22nd September 2013 09:51 AM

The Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA) will prepare development strategy for the proposed 13 Urban Nodes (UNs) and 46 Urban Centers (UCs) in the Hyderabad Metropolitan Region (HMR).

The development of the urban nodes and centres will be an expansion programme apart from creating economic activity and employment that would help in triggering balanced and sustainable development of HMR.

HMDA has invited request for proposal for selection of consultants for preparation of feasibility report on UCs and UNs and preparation of development plans and infrastructure development. Consultants will be engaged to carry out a detailed feasibility study of all the UNs and UCs for their feasibility and provide strategies and a framework of development, investment and implementation.

It can be recalled here that HMDA prepared the Metropolitan Development Plan The  MDP envisages Hyderabad acting as a primary nucleus to the other multiple sub-nuclei centres identified as UNs and UCs. THE NODES: In the MDP, HMDA proposed 13 Urban Nodes at Farooqnagar, Bhuvanagiri, Shabad, Malkapur, Chevella, Choutuppal, Sangareddy, Ibrahimpatnam, Toopran, Jeedipally, Thummaloor, Kandukur and Bibinagar for the second order development identified spatially which have the potential to grow.

HMDA officials told Express that each of these UNs is envisaged to be a self-contained zone. The proposed Regional Ring Road (RRR) of MDP is passing through most of these nodes, providing strong regional linkage. The UNs are of varying sizes and MDP has incorporated detailed land use with roads, parks and open spaces, areas under public and semi-public use zone and environmentally sensitive areas have also been proposed. The facilities to be studied include health, education, e-Seva centres, railway and APSRTC reservation centres, banks, RTOs,  registration centres, transport link to UNs and UCs, and identification of bottlenecks/constraints in each sector. Other facilities like water supply, power, sewage, solid waste and public amenities have to be studied and prepared in detail as per the MDP.

THE CENTRES: The HMDA proposed 46 Urban Centres (UCs) in MDP for the third order development centres identified spatially which have potential to grow.

The centres include Pochampalli, Kottal, Mirkhanpet, Tallapalli, Dhobipet, Vargal, Dharmavaram, Narsapur, Lemur, Ismailkhanpet, Dandumailaram, Shivampet, Maryala, Nintur, Mughalgidda, Rachlur, Turkapalli, Nelapatla, Kandukur, Yacharam, Chinnakondur, Yeliminedu, Pantangi, Virlapalli, Khanapur, Dayallatanda, Khanapur, Polkampalli, Chintalcheruvu, Chegur, Bommalaramaram, Subhanpur, Donti, Tumlur, Chinnaravullapalli, Tangedupalli, Cheekatimamidi, Kandawada, Markuk, Gummadidala, Gungal, Manchal, Manyaguda, Daulatabad, Mulugu and Malkapur. These centres are scattered all around the region and are inter-dependent on urban contiguous pockets.

From Around the Web