No Consensus on Selection of Standing Panel Heads

Published: 29th November 2015 05:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 29th November 2015 05:08 AM   |  A+A-

KOCHI: As the UDF fails to reach a consensus with the Opposition on selection of the eight Standing Committee chairpersons in the Kochi Corporation, the stage is set for an election.

According to party insiders who attended the Parliamentary party meeting of UDF at the District Congress Committee office on Saturday, Shiny Mathew, who was the top contender for the Mayor post, will be contesting for the post of Town Planning Committee chairperson. The UDF will field sitting councillor Gracy for the post of Development Standing Committee chairman.

“Adv Minimol V K, who won from Palarivattom, will be contesting for the post of Health Standing Committee chairperson, while senior leader A B Sabu will pursue the post of Welfare Standing Committee. The IUML has decided field P M Haris, who contested from the Kaloor North division, for the Works Committee Standing committee post,” said a source in the party.

The decision was taken at the Parliamentary party meeting attended by V J Paulose, Excise Minister K Babu, K V Thomas MP, Benny Behnan, Dominic Presentation, Hibi Eden and Mayor Saumini Jain. Manwhile, a decision on the Education Standing Committee chairperson will be taken after a second round discussion.

If everything goes as discussed, Malini Biju, who contested from Island North, will be given the post of Education Standing Committee chairperson.

Earlier, the decision to consider the LDF’s request was turned down by the UDF after the former demanded two standing committee posts. “We were ready to give one seat to the CPM as they hold 30 seats in the 74-member council, which they rejected,” said a top leader in the UDF.

Mayor Saumini Jain said the purpose of the DCC meeting was just to give a brief idea about the procedure for electing the standing committee chairpersons. “We have not taken any decision,” she said.

Election to all the eight standing committees will be held on Monday. Additional district magistrate P Padmakumar will be the returning officer.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kochi news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp