Sree Chithira Thirunal award for M T Vasudevan Nair

Published: 02nd August 2013 11:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd August 2013 11:08 AM   |  A+A-

Writer and Jnanpith winner M T Vasudevan Nair has been selected for the Sree Chithira Thirunal National Award 2013.

The award is instituted by the Sree Chithira Thirunal Trust and carries a purse of Rs 1 lakh and a citation.

Vasudevan Nair was selected by a panel consisting of Palode Ravi MLA, former Additional Chief Secretary D Babu Paul, S K Nair, trust chairman T Raveendran Thampi and managing trustee T Satheesh Kumar.

Recipients of the award include ISRO former chairman G Madhavan Nair, West Bengal governor and former national security advisor M K Narayanan, M S Swaminathan, actor Mohanlal, playback singer K Yesudas, Indian ambassador to the US Nirupama Rao and ‘Metro Man’ E Sreedharan.

Stay up to date on all the latest Thiruvananthapuram news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp