Doueiri’s The Insult depicting Lebanon’s tinderbox to be opening film

Lebanese-French filmmaker Ziad Doueiri’s The Insult will be the opening film at the 22nd International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) which will get under way here on Friday.

Published: 08th December 2017 01:11 AM  |   Last Updated: 08th December 2017 10:21 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Lebanese-French filmmaker Ziad Doueiri’s The Insult will be the opening film at the 22nd International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) which will get under way here on Friday. In the aftermath of the havoc wrought by Cyclone Ockhi, the inaugural function will be held minus the celebrations.

The inaugural screening will take place at the Nishagandhi auditorium in the evening. However, films will be screened at Tagore Theatre, Kalabhavan, Kairali, Sree and Nila from Friday morning itself. King of Peking will be shown at Tagore Theatre and Holy Air at Kairali at 10 am, Woodpeckers will be screened at Kalabhavan and Dogs and Fools at Sree at 10.15 am and The Blessed at Nila at 10.30 am will be screened on the opening day.

Over the next eight days, 190 films from 65 countries will be screened in 14 theatres. The festival authorities said  all arrangements have been made for early booking of the films. The audiences can book one day in advance via the IFFK website or the mob app or through the help desk.  The help desks will function from 8 am-9 pm. Special ramps and other facilities have been provided for the differently-abled who can avoid the hassle of standing in long queues.

In the competition section, 14 films will vie for the Golden Crow Pheasant Award. Five films by Alexander Sokurov have been included in the Retrospective on Sokurov films. The festival also pays homage to filmmakers, the late  I V Sasi and K R Mohanan. Filipino filmmaker  Lino Brocka’s films will be screened in Remembering the Master section.

Under the ‘Contemporary Film Maker in Focus’, films by African director Mahamat-Saleh Haroun and Mexican filmmaker Michel Franco will be screened.   In the Retrospective section, Malayalam filmmaker K P Kumaran’s four films will be shown.


The jury members of the International Film Festival started to arrive in the capital city and the first to touch down here was film editor Mary Stephen from Hong Kong. Film critic and historian Marco Muller is the chairman of the International Jury with director/screenwriter T V Chandran, actor Marlon Moreno and film scholar/ curator Aboubacker Sanogo being the other members.

Freelance journalist and critic Harri Rompotti, film critic Senem Aytac and critic/writer Madhu Eravankara are the members in Fipresci jury. The NETPAC Jury has film critic Max Tessier, film editor Nandini Ramnath and actor Ji Hoon JO as its members.

Stay up to date on all the latest Thiruvananthapuram news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp