Zimbabwe Beats Australia for 1st Time in 31 Years - The New Indian Express

Zimbabwe Beats Australia for 1st Time in 31 Years

Published: 31st August 2014 10:44 PM

Last Updated: 31st August 2014 10:44 PM

HARARE — Zimbabwe beat Australia for the first time in 31 years on Sunday as captain Elton Chigumbura's 52 not out led his team to a famous three-wicket win in the ODI triangular series.

Opposite number Michael Clarke also made an unbeaten half-century for Australia but re-injured his hamstring in only his country's second loss ever to the southern African team and said he would leave the tournament to return home for treatment.

Chigumbura carried the tournament host to 211-7, overhauling Australia's below-par 209-9 on a tough batting strip at Harare Sports Club. It was Zimbabwe's first win over the currently top-ranked Australians since they met in ODIs for the first time at the 1983 World Cup. Chigumbura had valuable help from Prosper Utseya, who was 30 not out in the match-winning partnership at the end.

The tense victory — sealed with two overs to spare but after Zimbabwe was struggling at 156-7 — sparked rare celebrations and a lap of honor for a team that recently lost two ODIs in a row to draw a series with lowly Afghanistan and had been beaten in its previous seven one-dayers at home.

"I had to be there until the end," Chigumbura said. "The most important thing was to stay calm. The guys worked very hard for this and the supporters were behind us throughout."

Utseya, whose 30 came off just 28 balls to help carry Zimbabwe home, sealed the win by launching a six over mid-wicket.

Zimbabwe's win was built on its earlier spin bowling effort as the Australian batsmen struggled on a slow, turning pitch to only just get past 200.

"Definitely not enough runs," Clarke said, "but credit to Zimbabwe, they bowled well and batted well. We lost the match during our innings, and Zimbabwe showed us how to play spin."

Clarke hit his half-century in his first international in six months and after passing a fitness test to play, but retired hurt in the 43rd over just as Australia appeared to be slowly recovering from a poor start.

The Aussies had been 97-5 after Zimbabwe's spinners struck early and quickly, but Clarke built a 50-run stand with Brad Haddin (49) before he made the decision to limp off and limit any damage to his hamstring.

Haddin was supported by Ben Cutting (26) down the order but Australia ultimately didn't have enough runs and offspinner Nathan Lyon's 4-44 couldn't save Australia.


Score Board:

Australia Innings

Aaron Finch b Nyumbu 11

Phil Hughes c Nyumbu b Utseya 10

Michael Clarke not out 68*

George Bailey b Williams 1

Glenn Maxwell b Waller 13

Mitchell Marsh c Utseya b Tiripano 15

Brad Haddin c Waller b Tiripano 49

James Faulkner c Nyumbu b Utseya 0

Mitchell Starc b Williams 3

Ben Cutting run out Waller/Taylor 26

Nathan Lyon not out 8

Extras: (2lb, 3w) 5

TOTAL: (for 9 wickets) 209

Overs: 50.

Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-38, 3-39, 4-57, 5-97, 5-147*, 6-147, 7-150, 8-201, 9-202.

*Michael Clarke retired hurt

Bowling: Tendai Chatara 8-0-56-0, John Nyumbu 10-1-30-1 (2w), Prosper Utseya 10-0-45-2 (1w), Donald Tiripano 6-1-34-2, Sean Williams 10-2-21-2, Malcolm Waller 6-0-21-1.

Zimbabwe Innings

Tino Mawoyo b Lyon 15

Sikandar Raza c sub (Smith) b Lyon 22

Hamilton Masakadza b Starc 18

Brendan Taylor b Lyon 32

Malcolm Waller c and b Maxwell 11

Sean Williams c Clarke b Lyon 4

Elton Chigumbura not out 52

Donald Tiripano b Starc 3

Prosper Utseya not out 30

Extras: (2b, 3lb, 18w, 1nb) 24

TOTAL: (for 7 wickets) 211

Overs: 48.

Did not bat: John Nyumbu, Tendai Chatara.

Fall of wickets: 1-42, 2-44, 3-100, 4-102, 5-106, 6-142, 7-156.

Bowling: Mitchell Starc 10-3-41-2 (4w), Mitchell Marsh 4-1-13-0 (1w), Ben Cutting 6-0-18-0 (1w), James Faulkner 7-0-28-0 (1nb, 2w), Nathan Lyon 10-1-44-4 (2w), Aaron Finch 2-0-19-0, Glenn Maxwell 8-0-41-1 (2w), Michael Clarke 1-0-2-0.

Result: Zimbabwe won by three wickets.

Toss: won by Australia.

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Pakistan, and Owen Chirombe, Zimbabwe.

Third Umpire: Russell Tiffin, Zimbabwe. Match Referee: Javagal Srinath, India.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt