Red wave in Pathanamthitta

Published: 20th May 2016 08:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 20th May 2016 08:10 AM   |  A+A-

PATHANAMTHITTA: The LDF swept the Assembly elections in the district by winning four of five seats.  The victory of Adoor Prakash from Konni with a margin of 20,478 votes is the only solace for the UDF in the district. The good show by BJP-BDJS candidates affected the UDF more than the LDF in the district.


By wresting Aranmula from K Sivadasan Nair, who represented the constituency in 12th and 13th Assemblies, LDF candidate Veena George gave a severe jolt to the UDF. Veena won the seat with a margin of 7,646 votes.  LDF candidate Raju Abraham, retained the Ranni seat. Chittayam Gopakumar retained the Adoor seat. In Tiruvalla, Mathew T Thomas retained the seat with a margin of 8,262 votes.

Stay up to date on all the latest Elections 2016 news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp