Ex-MP Cong chief to contest against CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Meanwhile in a big boost to the party, veteran BJP leader and former minister Sartaj Singh joined the Congress.

Published: 09th November 2018 06:20 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th November 2018 06:20 AM   |  A+A-

Congress Flag

For representational purposes (File | PTI)

By Express News Service

BHOPAL:  Former Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president Arun Yadav will take on Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan from Budhni assembly seat of Sehore district in the November 28 Assembly elections. In a late Thursday evening development, the Congress released the sixth and final list of candidates for the coming polls, declaring four candidates. The party has decided to contest 229 of the 230 seats and left the Jatara seat of Tikamgarh district for Sharad Yadav’s party.

Meanwhile in a big boost to the party, veteran BJP leader and former minister Sartaj Singh joined the Congress. He was named the candidate from Hoshangabad. Singh, a five-time Lok Sabha member from Hoshangabad and two-time sitting MLA from Seoni-Malwa reportedly quit the BJP because he was not given a ticket.

In a jolt to the party, however, Nitin Chaturvedi, son of former Rajya Sabha member Satyavrat Chaturvedi, joined the SP and filed his nomination for the Rajnagar seat.Protests also broke out over the nomination of Sanjay Singh Masani — Chouhan’s brother-in-law — from the Waraseoni seat in the Balaghat district.   

Stay up to date on all the latest Madhya Pradesh Elections news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp