Eldest in Lok Sabha Aged 73 Years, Youngest 35 - The New Indian Express

Eldest in Lok Sabha Aged 73 Years, Youngest 35

Published: 19th May 2014 06:07 PM

Last Updated: 19th May 2014 06:07 PM

INDORE: Three of the total 29 MPs elected to the 16th Lok Sabha from Madhya Pradesh are septuagenarians while 12 others are in their late 50s.

All the three veterans belong to BJP.

While Laxminarayan Yadav (73) was elected from the Sagar seat, Nagendra Singh (72) won from Khajuraho.

Sumitra Mahajan (71) bagged her eighth consecutive term from Indore.

As many as 33 per cent of the total electorate of 4.7 crore who cast their vote in the state were in the age group of 18-29 years.

While BJP won 27 seats, opposition Congress could manage to claim just two seats in the Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led state.

Savitri Thakur (35), who contested her maiden election from the Dhar (ST) seat, is the youngest MP from the state.

The MPs in the age group of 60-70 years include outgoing Union minister and Congress leader Kamal Nath (67), who won from his pocket borough of Chhindwara.

Also in that list are BJP's Sushma Swaraj (62) from Vidisha, Dr Bhagirath Prasad (66) from Bhind, Dr Virendra Kumar (60) from Tikamgarh, Dalpat Singh Paraste (61) from Shahdol and Dileep Singh Bhuria (68) from Ratlam.

A maximum 12 candidates are in the age group of 50-60 years: Anoop Mishra (57) from Morena, Narendra Singh Tomar (56, Gwalior), Prahlad Singh Patel (54, Damoh), Ganesh Singh (51, Satna), Janardhan Mishra (58, Rewa), Rakesh Singh (53, Jabalpur), Faggan Singh Kulaste (54, Mandla), Bodh Singh Bhagat (58, Balaghat), Rodmal Nagar (53, Rajgarh), Sudhir Gupta (54, Mandsaur), Nandkumar Singh Chouhan (55, Khandwa) and Alok Sanjar (50, Bhopal) again all BJP.

Among the MPs in the 40-50 age group is Congress's Jyotiraditya Scindia (42) from Guna.

Apart from Scindia, BJP's Uday Pratap Singh (49, Hoshangabad), Manohar Untwal (47, Dewas), Chintamani Malviya (44, Ujjain) and Jyoti Dhurve (47, Betul) are the MPs below 50 years of age.

There are two other MPs who are in their 30s -- Subhash Patel (36) from Khargone and Reeti Pathak (36) from Sidhi -- both BJP.

comments powered by Disqus

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

Read More

follow us Mobile Site iPad News Hunt Android RSS Tumblr Linekin Pinterest Youtube Google Plus Twitter Facebook