Old is Gold for Parties in Quest of Golden Telangana - The New Indian Express

Old is Gold for Parties in Quest of Golden Telangana

Published: 11th April 2014 07:39 AM

Last Updated: 11th April 2014 09:49 AM

Selection of candidates hasn’t been a smooth affair for all the parties. L’affaire nominations in Telangana resembles the IPL to some extent —  though in the slam bang tourney,  you don’t find ‘rebels’ as such — parallels could be drawn in the matter of selections and ‘auctions.’

Just as franchises go for experience and performers, political parties too have gone for the oldies, experienced enough in the hard grind of electoral fights rather than debutantes. So, in the end, you find parties, be it the Congress, TRS or the TDP-BJP, sticking to the old guard more or less to propel them to power.

Much like IPL team owners going on a shopping spree, the parties have ‘poached’ and lured players from other parties which of course led to the inevitable rebel fire. As a consequence, barring a few new faces, the new State of Telangana is going to see the same old faces after the elections.

Coming to actual figures, about 15 newbies are in the fray for a seat in the Lok Sabha while the number is about 40 in the case of Assembly polls. Prominent among the new faces in the Assembly elections are Telangana folk singer Rasamayi Balakishan (TRS candidate from Manakondur), OU Student JAC leader Pidamarthi Ravi (TRS nominee for Sattupalli seat), TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao’s daughter Kavitha (TRS nominee for Nizamabad LS seat) and K Shankaramma, mother of Srikanthachari, who had laid down his life for T State (TRS nominee in Huzurnagar). Telangana Gazetted Employees’ leader V Srinivas Goud has been fielded from Mahbubnagar Assembly constituency by the TRS.

The TRS has given tickets to more number of novices than others. The Congress has tried to accommodate some political neophytes in a few seats.  For instance, the party allotted Secunderabad Cantonment seat to TJAC leader Gajjela Kantham and Narsampet seat to Katti Venkata Swamy, another TJAC member.

As far as rebel trouble is concerned, the magnitude of the problem could be gauged from the fact that there are over 120 rebels in the fray. TDP rebels filed nominations in eight Assembly segments that were allotted to the BJP as part of the alliance whereas BJP rebels filed nominations against TDP candidates in seven constituencies. The Congress faces rebels in 33 constituencies while the TRS faces rebels in 10 constituencies — the least of all.


comments powered by Disqus

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

Read More

follow us Mobile Site iPad News Hunt Android RSS Tumblr Linekin Pinterest Youtube Google Plus Twitter Facebook