Telangana elections: Co-brothers fight for ticket in Kothagudem

While Venkateswara Rao is a senior leader and a former minister, and his co-brother Adavalli Krishna is also a senior Congress leader with considerable following.

Published: 10th November 2018 08:20 AM  |   Last Updated: 10th November 2018 08:20 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

KHAMMAM: What you get when you slightly twist the popular phrase ‘brothers in arms’? ‘Co-brothers in arms’? One is tempted to coin such phrases thanks to our politicians, and their desire to get their respective parties’ favour at all costs, especially with the elections round the corner.

While one of the most widely used phrase refers to two people fighting together for the same cause, by ‘co-brothers in arms’, considering we are talking about politicians, we actually mean the opposite -- though we should suffix that phrase with ‘fighting against each other’ to achieve the same goal. The co-brothers being referred to here are Vanama Venkateswara Rao and Adavalli Krishna who are trying to impress -- rather we should say fighting -- the Congress high command to get the party’s Kothagudem ticket for December 7 elections.

If the sources are to be believed, Kothagudem Assembly constituency has actually become a big headache for Congress party’s high command with one set of local leaders and supporters lobbying for Vanama Venkateswara Rao and the other for Adavalli Krishna.

While Venkateswara Rao is a senior leader and a former minister, and his co-brother Adavalli Krishna is also a senior Congress leader with a considerable following. Both the leaders are said to be working separately towards their goal as they had differences of opinion on many issues and for many years. Venkateswara Rao is said to have the support of TPCC chief Uttam Kumar Reddy and another senior leader Jana Reddy, while Adavalli Krishna is being backed by former union minister Renuka Chowdary.
The duo is also has a history of rivalry too, that is in political terms. Back in 2009 elections, Adavalli contested on Praja Rajyam Party ticket and Vanama on Congress ticket -- though both of them were defeated with CPI candidate Kunamneni Sambasiva Rao winning the seat.

Stay up to date on all the latest Telangana Elections news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp