Telangana Bill Passed in Lok Sabha

The historical Telangana Bill was passed in the Lok Sabha by voice vote as half of the ministers trooped into the well of the house shouting slogans for and against the bifurcation of the state.

Published: 18th February 2014 04:48 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th February 2014 04:55 PM   |  A+A-

Telangana Bill was passed today in Lok Sabha by voice vote. Earlier, in an unprecedented move Speaker Meira Kumar has stopped the  telecast of Lok Sabha proceedings. Former Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi said the act reminded him of Emergency, while TDP MP YS Chaudhary has called it a murder of democracy.

Dismayed over the passing of the bill, YSRC leader Jagan Mohan Rady has called for a state wide bandh tomorrow.

A fuming Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy, leader of the YSR Congress, called it "a black day" in the history of India and announced a general strike in Andhra Pradesh Wednesday.

"The bill was passed in parliament today against the will of the (Andhra) assembly, against the will of the people of Andhra Prdesh," he told the media. 

"Today we saw how undemocratically the bill has been passed... The way the proceedings took place, the way the ayes and noes were called by the speaker very clearly showed how democracy can be killed in broad daylight.

"It is a black day in the history of the country. We are declaring a bandh in Andhra Pradesh tomorrow."

Half of the ministers trooped into the well of the house raising slogans, for and against the bifurcation of the state.

A Cabinet Minister and three legislators of the ruling Congress party in Andhra Pradesh Tuesday resigned to protest the state's proposed bifurcation.

Infrastructure Minister G. Srinivasa Rao resigned both from the cabinet and the party. He faxed his resignation letter to Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan, his aides said.

Two legislators from Seemandhra also resigned in protest against the central government's move to go ahead with the formation of a separate Telangana state.

C. Venkataramaiah and T. Trimurthulu announced their resignations from the assembly as also from the primary membership of the Congress.

They alleged that the party entered into a deal with the Telangana Rashtra Samithi and YSR Congress party to divide the state for political benefits.

U.V. Ramnamurthy Raju, a member of the legislative council, also announced his resignation.

Also read:

Modi Slams Congress for Disrupting House Proceedings

BJP to Support T-bill But Not Without Discussion

T-bill Moved in LS for Consideration Amid Uproar

Telangana Tussle: Andhra CM Kiran Reddy Likely to Quit

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp