BJP Names 13 Whips in LS, Three in Rajya Sabha

The BJP has named 13 whips in the Lok Sabha and three in Rajya Sabha.

Published: 13th July 2014 08:12 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th July 2014 08:12 AM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI:  The BJP has named 13 whips in the Lok Sabha and three in Rajya Sabha. The BJP has 280 MPs in the Lok Sabha thus necessitating more whips to manage the MPs in the House.

Rajasthan MP Arjun Ram Meghwal will be the party’s Chief Whip in the Lok Sabha, while Rajya Sabha member from Punjab Avinash Rai Khanna will be the new party chief whip in the Upper House.

Ganesh Singh, a three-time MP member from Madhya Pradesh, has been made party secretary in the Lok Sabha, while Rajya Sabha MP Bhupendra Yadav will be the secretary in the Upper House. P C Mohan from Karnataka is the new treasurer of the BJP Parliamentary Party.

The BJP made 13 whips giving representation to different states. The new whips in the Lok Sabha are: Suresh Angadi (Karnataka), Sanjay Dhotre (Maharashtra), Sanjay Jaiswal (Bihar), Sunil Singh (Jharkhand), Ratan Lal Katariya (Haryana), Parvesh Verma (Delhi), Kirit Solanki (Gujarat), Rakesh Singh (Madhya Pradesh), Kamla Patle (Chhattisgarh), Om Birla (Rajasthan), Mahendra Pandey, Ramshankar Karhuriya and Pankaj Choudhary (all Uttar Pradesh).

The three party whips in the Rajya Sabha are Bimla Kashyap Sood (Himachal Pradesh), Mansukh L Mandaviya (Gujarat) and Narayanlal Panchariya (Rajasthan).

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp