Indian Writer Pankaj Mishra Wins 150,000 Dollars Yale Literary Prize

Published: 09th March 2014 09:54 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th March 2014 09:54 AM   |  A+A-

Indian writer Pankaj Mishra is one of eight writers from seven countries winning a $150,000 Yale University prize each in recognition of their achievements and to support their ongoing work.

Mishra, an Indian essayist, memoirist, travel writer and novelist, won the Windham Campbell Literature Prize in non-fiction category, The Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Yale announced.

"Pursuing high standards of literary style, Pankaj Mishra gives us new narratives about the evolution of modern Asia," the New Haven, Connecticut based institution said.

"He charts the journey from the Indian small town to the metropolis and rebuffs imperialist clichés with equal verve."

"Such delightful news!" said Mishra. "As a freelancer obliged to make a living from writing, you are always scrounging for bits of time in which to write the next book, and this wonderfully generous prize will help me secure a long undistracted period".

Mishra's work "expands our understanding of the encounter between Western and Non-western culture," the announcement said.

"His prose is distinguished by a melli?uous yet precise phrasing whose generous intelligence speaks to the general reader and specialist alike."

In addition to a novel, "The Romantics", Mishra has published four works of non?ction: "Butter Chicken in Ludhiana: Travels in Small Town India"; "An End to Su?ering: the Buddha in the World"; "Temptations of the West: How to Be Modern in India, Pakistan, Tibet, and Beyond"; and "From the Ruins of Empire: The Intellectuals Who Remade Asia."

"From the Ruins of Empire", his most recent book, attempts a re-visioning of the geo-politics of the late nineteenth and twentieth centuries from multiple Asian perspectives.

His literary and political essays and long-form journalism regularly appear in The New York Review of Books, The London Review of Books, The Guardian, The Hindu and elsewhere.

Other winners in the three categories are: in fiction, Aminatta Forna (Sierra Leone), Nadeem Aslam (Pakistan), and Jim Crace (United Kingdom); in non-fiction John Vaillant (United States/Canada); and in drama, Kia Corthron (United States), Sam Holcroft (United Kingdom) and Noëlle Janaczewska (Australia).

All eight writers will accept the prize in person at a ceremony at Yale on Sep 15. The ceremony will be followed by a three-day literary festival celebrating the work of the prize recipients.

(Arun Kumar can be contacted at

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp