MNS Declares War on Sena, Releases First List of LS Nominees

Published: 09th March 2014 05:12 PM  |   Last Updated: 09th March 2014 05:12 PM   |  A+A-


In a shrewd political move aimed at queering the pitch for its arch rival Shiv Sena, MNS today declared its support for Narendra Modi in his prime ministerial bid while fielding its candidates for Lok Sabha polls mainly from those constituencies which are contested by Sena, virtually sparing BJP.

Addressing his party workers on the eighth foundation day of MNS here, party chief Raj Thackeray said Modi should become the Prime Minister.

"We will contest the Lok Sabha elections. I will show my party's strength during the elections. We will support Narendra Modi for the PM's post. Modi should become the Prime Minister of the country," Raj said at the function held at Shanmukhananda Hall.

The first list of seven candidates consists of filmmaker Mahesh Manjarekar who will make his electoral debut from Mumbai North West seat, currently represented by Congress MP Gurudas Kamat. Shiv Sena has announced nomination of party veteran Gajanan Kirtikar from this seat whereas AAP has fielded Mayank Gandhi.

Raj's declaration to contest Lok Sabha polls came days after former BJP chief Nitin Gadkari appealed to him in a private conclave here to not field candidates in a bid to avoid consolidation of votes in favour of Congress.

Gadkari's overture had ruffled feathers of Shiv Sena, prompting party president Uddhav Thackeray to say that forging alliance with new parties is a closed chapter.

Raj's close confidant and party MLA Bala Nandgaonkar will take on Arvind Sawant of Shiv Sena and Milind Deora of Congress in Mumbai South, where AAP's Meera Sanyal is also in the fray.

MNS' Aditya Shirodkar will contest from Sena stronghold of Mumbai South Central against Rahul Shewale who replaced Sena veteran Manohar Joshi to bag the ticket this time.

BJP has announced the candidature of Kirit Somaya from Mumbai North East seat, where AAP has fielded Medha Patkar.

The party may field either Mohit Kambhoj or city unit president Ashish Shelar in Mumbai North seat against sitting Congress MP Sanjay Nirupam.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp