SP Fields Lok Sabha Candidates From Assam, MP, Andhra

Published: 10th March 2014 10:57 AM  |   Last Updated: 10th March 2014 10:57 AM   |  A+A-


The Samajwadi Party (SP) has released a list of candidates who would contest the Lok Sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh, Assam and Andhra Pradesh, a party leader said Monday.

Ram Gopal Yadav, general secretary, said in a statement that the party has fielded candidates for Tirupati, Machalipattnam, Warangal, Aarakku and Narsapuram Lok Sabha constituencies in Andhra Pradesh.

The party has also decided to field candidates for the assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh for nine seats including Trivur, Kurnool, Warangal (East) and Vardhanapet.

The party, which has 22 MPs from Uttar Pradesh, would also be testing waters in Madhya Pradesh and has decided to field six candidates for the Lok Sabha seats.

The candidates include Anita Chowdhary (Bhind), Rajmani Patel (Rewa), Yogesh Kumar (Shahdaul), Manoj Kumar Yadav (Vidisha), Shiva Malik (Bhopal), Siddhartha Kushwaha (Khajuraho).

The SP will also be contesting the Karimganj, Silchar, Dhubri, Barpeta, Jorhat and Mangaldoi constituencies in Assam. 

A senior party leader signalled that in coming days more candidates would be announced from other parts of the country.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp