Winnability Helps Tainted Get Congress Tickets

Winnability was the only criterion determining who will contest from where, not the media campaign about who was tainted or not, a senior Congress leader said on Thursday.

Published: 14th March 2014 07:38 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th March 2014 09:18 AM   |  A+A-


Winnability, winnability and winnability. That was the only criterion determining who will contest from where, not the media campaign about who was tainted or not, a senior Congress leader said on Thursday.

The Congress in its second list of 71 candidates has renominated former Railway Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal from Chandigarh and former Minister Subodh Kant Sahay from Ranchi and Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh’s wife, Pratibha Singh, from Mandi -- all perceived to be “tainted”.

Bansal had to give up his Raliways portfolio after his nephew Vijay Singla was booked in the cash-for-post scam. Sahay quit the  Cabinet in the coal block allocation scam.

Virbhadra and wife have been facing fire over allegations of a quid-pro-quo deal involving a small-time hydel power unit. On Wednesday, the Delhi High Court even heard a plea for a court-monitored CBI probe against Virbhadra, and charges were framed against Bansal’s nephew in the CBI special court on March 11.

“The Congress will not get cowed down by broad brush ill-informed campaign by a section of the media on who is tainted and who is not-we decide candidates on the winnability factor and not according to TV channel debates,” a senior party leader said, by way of explaining the candidates’ choice in the second list, also asserting that “none against whom charges have been framed in courts has been given tickets”.

It was also pointed out that “electoral politics is not run by perceptions and that is the reason why we never raised questions on Narendra Modi’s right to contest elections-our campaign against him is on moral grounds and his politics.”

Since finding winning candidates is the biggest headache for the party, sitting MPs and ministers have been fielded again as much as possible.

Thus Union minister Shashi Tharoor will be seeking re-election from Thiruvananthapuram and K V Thomas from Ernakulam. Minister of State PMO V Narayanasamy has been fielded from Puducherry and Union Minister M Veerappa Moily from Chikkballapur. In Odisha, senior Dalit leader Bhakta Charan Das has been renominated from Kalahandi.

But there are newcomers and some changes as well. In Uttar Pradesh, actor Nagma has been fielded from Meerut in place of Dayanand Gupta; actor-turned-politician Raj Babar has been shifted to Ghaziabad from Agra.

But former state Congress chief Rita Bahuguna Joshi will be again trying her luck from Lucknow.

In Maharashtra too, some replacements can be seen. For instance, Sagar Meghe has been fielded from Wardha in place of his father Dutta Meghe. Devendra Patel gets to contest from Hoshangabad after Uday Pratap Singh, the earlier Congress candidate, switched over to the BJP last year.

Maharashtra minister Kalappa Avade has been fielded from Hathkangale in place of the NCP candidate.

In Chhattisgarh, Aarti Singh replaced Maneka Singh in Raigarh and in Raipur, Satyanarayan Sharma replaced Chhaya Verma. Daryl William Cherran Momin will replace D Zennith M Sangma in Tura, Meghalaya.

The party has announced only one Gujarat seat in the second list: Bhavnagar, to be contested by Pravin Rathod.

Hamdullah Sayeed has been renominated from Lakshadweep just like most of the seats in northeastern states and in Kerala, Assam, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Odisha and Uttar Pradesh.

Congress had declared its first list of candidates 194 candidates March 8.

conglist second list A.jpgcong second list B.jpgcong second list C.jpg

Also Read:

Cong List Has Four New Faces; Dhanapalan Shifted to Thrissur 

Sushma, Ram Kripal, Shahnawaz in BJP's Third List  

Congress Likely to Include Right to Health in Manifesto 

More Than Willing to Re-contest from Ludhiana: Tewari

Will Rahul's Combative Stance Help Congress?

Congress Announces First List of Candidates for 2014 LS Elections 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp