Jogi, Pilot in Congress List; No Ticket for Kalmadi

Published: 18th March 2014 09:49 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th March 2014 10:25 PM   |  A+A-


SureshKalmadi_PTI_b.jpgThe Congress Tuesday declared its third list of party candidates fielding former Chhattisgarh chief minister Ajit Jogi from Mahasamund and giving its ticket from Pune to Vishwajeet Kadam in place of sitting MP Suresh Kalmadi.

The party has fielded cricketer-turned-politician Mohammed Azharuddin from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan.

The list of 58 names declared Tuesday included its Rajasthan unit chief Sachin Pilot (Ajmer) and its Haryana unit chief Ashok Tanwar (Sirsa).

There was speculation that both Pilot and Tanwar were seeking a change of seat but both will be contesting from the seats they won in 2009.

Other prominent names in the list from Rajasthan include union minister Chandresh Kumari (Jodhpur) and Jyoti Mirdha (Nagaur).

The list includes names of several sitting MPs including five from Delhi.

There was intense speculation if Kalmadi, who had won Lok Sabha elections thrice, would be given Congress ticket from Pune.

Kalmadi, a former chief of the Commonwealth Games Organising Committee, is an accused in a corruption case related to the 2010 sporting event.

He was arrested for his alleged role in awarding a contract for installing the Timing-Scoring-Result system to Swiss Times Omega at an exorbitant cost of Rs.141 crore, allegedly causing a loss of over Rs.95 crore to the public exchequer. He was later released on bail.

Also read:

Kalmadi Rejects Strictures Over Commonwealth Youth Games

Keep the Politicians Out of Sports: Rahul Gandhi

Congress Renominates Five Delhi MPs

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp