Race on in TN Congress to Bag 'Star Seats'

Published: 19th March 2014 06:06 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th March 2014 06:06 PM   |  A+A-


At a time when senior Congress leaders are shying away from contesting the April 24 Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu and despite a lack of enthusiasm among cadres, there is a race to get tickets to contest from select constituencies perceived as "winnable", party sources said.  

Leading the bandwagon of serious contenders for the few star seats is H Vasanthakumar, former MLA and brother of former Tamil Nadu Congress Committee President Kumari Ananthan for the Kanyakumari seat.  

He will face a tough contest from Robert Bruce, who has the support of former TNCC president K V Thangkabalu.          

The southernmost Parliamentary seat has a strong support base for both the national parties, Congress and BJP.       

In Chidambaram, there is a race between Maniratnam and Vallalperumal. While the former is a loyalist of Union Minister G K Vasan, the latter has the support of P Chidambaram's followers.

Similarly, in Villupuram, the battle lines are drawn between Rani, a follower of Vasan and Selvaperunthagai, a Chidambaram loyalist.      

Interestingly, Youth Congress functionaries are pitted against aspirants from other party wings in certain seats for tickets. For instance, R N Amirtha Raja, a Nagapattinam (Reserved) YC President who has bagged party awards for best performance, is witnessing stiff resistance from Senthil Pandian, a Vasan follower.        

Vijaya Ilanchezhian is another Youth Congress functionary who is fighting it out to get the Vellore seat.            

Jothimani, a prominent woman youth Congress functionary, now in Mahila Congress, is fighting to get Karur seat.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp