Six sacked Tripura TMC MLAs to join BJP on August 7

The sacked MLAs had announced that they would not vote for a candidate in the presidential poll who was supported by CPI-M.

Published: 03rd August 2017 05:22 PM  |   Last Updated: 03rd August 2017 05:22 PM   |  A+A-

BJP supporters (File | PTI)


AGARTALA: The six sacked Tripura Trinamool Congress(TMC) MLAs, who voted for NDA's presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind, will formally join BJP on August 7.

“The MLAs will meet BJP president Amit Shah in Delhi tomorrow. Their joining was finalized earlier following discussion with our central leaders,” BJP spokesman Victor Shom said.

He said, the MLAs along with their supporters would join in a public meeting on Monday in the presence of party General Secretary Ram Madhab, Convener of North-East Democratic Alliance and Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and state party President, Biplab Deb and the party's Tripura observer, Sunil Deodhar.

The sacked MLAs had announced that they would not vote for a candidate in the presidential poll who was supported by CPI-M.

Former Leader of Opposition in Tripura Assembly Sudip Roy Barman and five other MLAs had quit Congress in protest against the party’s electoral understanding with the CPI(M) in the 2016 West Bengal Assembly elections and had joined the TMC. They were, however, sacked from TMC after they had openly announced their support for Kovind.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp