Nagaland CM T R Zeliang seeks disqualification of ten NPF MLAs

Ten Naga People's Front MLAs had absented themselves from the July 19 emergency session of the Assembly, violating the whip of the party.

Published: 05th August 2017 12:46 PM  |   Last Updated: 05th August 2017 12:46 PM   |  A+A-

T R Zeliang (PTI)


KOHIMA: Nagaland Chief Minister T R Zeliang has filed a composite disqualification petition to the state Assembly speaker against ten NPF legislators.

In the petition filed yesterday, Zeliang pleaded that 10 NPF MLAs be declared as disqualified under paragraph 2(1)(b) of the tenth schedule as they absented themselves from the July 19 emergency session of the Assembly, violating the whip of the party.

Zeliang stated that the ten NPF legislators were fully aware of the sitting of the House as proper communication were made to them.

Zeliang was sworn in as the chief minister of the state on July 19 after 47 MLAs, including 36 NPF legislators, rebelled against incumbent Shurhozelie Liezietsu. Zeliang won the trust vote on July 21.

The ten NPF legislators are Kiyanilie Peseyie, Y Vikheho Swu, Chotisuh Sazo, Kuzholuzo Nienu, Yitachu, C L John, Thonwang Konyak, P Longon, R Tohanba and Torechu.


Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp