Independence day: Chhattisgarh police jawan gets lone President's Police Medal for Gallantry; 990 policemen decorated

The maximum number of personnel, 53 out of the total 190 named for the bravery medals, are from the Central Reserve Police Force, the lead force for anti-Naxal operations in the country.

Published: 14th August 2017 08:37 PM  |   Last Updated: 14th August 2017 08:37 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: A Chhattisgarh Police jawan, who laid down hislife-fightingg Naxals, has been named on the eve of the Independence Day today for the country's highest police gallantry medal, while 989 other central and state police forces personnel will get various service medals.

The maximum number of personnel, 53 out of the total 190 named for the bravery medals, are from the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), the lead force for anti-Naxal operations in the country.

The country's largest paramilitary was followed by Andhra Pradesh Police (52), Jammu and Kashmir Police (25), Odisha Police (17) and the Border Security Force (14) in winning the gallantry laurels in various internal security theatres.

The maximum of the gallantry medals, 142, were accorded to security forces undertaking operations against the Maoists in the Left Wing Extremism (LWE) theatre followed by counterterrorism and counter-insurgency operations in Jammu and Kashmir, at 40.

Chhattisgarh Police platoon commander Shankar Rao (posthumously) is the lone recipient of the top President's Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG) for leading his team in a fierce ambush with Naxals in April, 2015 in the worst LWEviolence affected district of Sukma in the state.

Seven policemen were killed while ten others were injured in this encounter, where the police estimates that about 35 Naxals were killed.

Among the bravery award winners are six Indian Police Service (IPS) officers, five of them young in the service, and working in the LWE-affected states.

Another IPS officer and Haryana Inspector General (IG) Anil K Rao has been named for the Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG). Rao led his men who arrested Sant Rampal from his ashram after an about two-week standoff in 2014 in the Hisar district.

A six-member CRPF team that neutralised two foreign terrorists in the Nowhatta Chowk area of Srinagar in Jammu and Kashmir on August 15 last year has also been decorated with the PMG.

Policemen of the J and K police and its elite Special Operations Group (SOG) have also been decorated for eliminating terrorists of various cadres during operations in the Kashmir valley, as per the list published by the Union Home Ministry today. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp