Gujarat polls begin: All you need to know about the first phase of the Assembly elections

The first phase of voting will be conducted in 89 assembly constituencies of Gujarat on Saturday.

Published: 09th December 2017 12:40 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th December 2017 08:15 AM   |  A+A-

Here is all you need to know about the first phase of elections for 182-member Gujarat Assembly. (File | PTI)


NEW DELHI: The first phase of voting will be conducted in 89 assembly constituencies of Gujarat on Saturday.

READ HERE | Gujarat polls: First phase of voting begins

In 2012, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 63 of the 89 constituencies while the Congress got only 22 seats. Others won four seats.

Here is all you need to know about the first phase of elections for 182-member Gujarat Assembly.

Voters Breakup

Total Registered Voters     : 2,12,31,652

Men                                  : 1,11,05,933

Women                             : 1,01,25,472

Apart from it, there are seven constituencies with electors numbering more than 1.5 lakh but less than 2 lakh. Rest 82 constituencies have more than 2 lakh registered voters in each of them.

Largest Constituency

Abdasa Assembly seat in Kachchh district is the largest constituency, which is spread over 6,278 sq km.

Smallest Constituency

Karanj Assembly seat in Surat district is smallest constituency, which is spread over only 4 sq km

Total Candidates

A total of 977 candidates are in the fray, out of which 57 are women candidates.

Constituency with Highest Number of candidates

Jamnagar Rural in Saurashtra region has the highest number of contenders. Here 27 candidates are trying their luck.

Constituency with Lowest Number of candidates

Jhagadia (ST) in Bharuch district and Gandevi (ST) in Navsari district have only 3 contestants in fray.

Districts having maximum and minimum number of constituencies

While Surat district has maximum (16) number of stories, Dangs district has only one constituency. 

District wise Constituency Breakup

Kachchh district: Abdasa, Mandvi , Bhuj, Anjar,  Gandhidham (SC), and Rapar.

Surendranagar district: Dasada (SC) , Limbdi, Wadhwan, Chotila, and Dhrangadhra.

Morbi district:  Morbi, Tankara, and Wankaner.

Rajkot district: Rajkot East, Rajkot West, Rajkot South, Rajkot Rural (SC), Jasdan, Gondal, Jetpur, and Dhoraji.

ALSO READ: Caste politics rule the roost in Gujarat polls

Jamnagar district:  Kalavad (SC), Jamnagar Rural, Jamnagar North, Jamnagar South, and Jamjodhpur.

Devbhumi Dwarka district:  Khambhalia, and Dwarka.  

Porbandar district: Porbandar and Kutiyana.

Junagadh district: Manavadar, Junagadh, Visavadar, Keshod, and Mangrol.

Gir Somnath district:  Somnath, Talala, Kodinar (SC), and Una.

Amreli district: Dhari, Amreli, Lathi, Savarkundla, and Rajula.

ALSO READ: BJP releases Gujarat poll manifesto ‘sankalp patra' 

Bhavnagar district:  Mahuva, Talaja, Gariadhar,  Palitana, Bhavnagar Rural,  Bhavnagar East, Bhavnagar West.

Botad district:  Botad and Gadhada (SC).

Narmada district: Nandod (ST) and Dediapada (ST).

Bharuch district: Jambusar, Vagra, Jhagadia (ST), Bharuch, and Ankleshwar.

Surat district: Olpad, Mangrol (ST), Mandvi (ST), Kamrej, Surat East, Surat North, Varachha Road, Karanj, Limbayat, Udhna, Majura, Katargam, Surat West, Choryasi, Bardoli (SC), Mahuva (ST).

Tapi district: Vyara (ST) and Nizar (ST).

Dangs district:  Dangs (ST).

Navsari district: Jalalpore, Navsari, Gandevi (ST), and Bansda (ST).

Valsad district: Dharampur (ST), Valsad, Pardi, Kaprada (ST), and Umbergaon (ST).

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp