Parliament attack anniversary: Post Pakistan meddling row, PM Modi, Manmohan Singh exchange greetings

The bitter slugfest ahead of the Gujarat polls receded into the background today as political leaders gathered to pay homage to the martyrs of the 2001 Parliament attack.

Published: 13th December 2017 01:44 PM  |   Last Updated: 13th December 2017 02:06 PM   |  A+A-

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and former prime minister Manmohan Singh exchange greetings during the tribute paying ceremony for the martyrs of 2001. (Photo | PTI)


NEW DELHI: The bitter slugfest ahead of the Gujarat polls receded into the background today as political leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his predecessor Manmohan Singh, gathered to pay homage to the martyrs of the 2001 Parliament attack.

Modi and Singh greeted each other warmly at the sombre ceremony, held in the Parliament House complex.

Vice President and Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu, the prime minister, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Manmohan Singh, BJP veteran L K Advani, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, her son Rahul, several senior ministers and politicians showered petals at the portraits of the bravehearts killed in the attack 16 years ago.

When Singh greeted Modi with a 'namaste' just before the ceremony, the latter cupped his hands.

Earlier this week, Modi had accused Singh of colluding with Pakistan to ensure BJP's defeat in Gujarat.

Singh had hit back at Modi for allegedly spreading "falsehood and canards" to "score political points in a lost cause".

On December 13, 2001, five heavily-armed gunmen stormed the Parliament complex and opened indiscriminate fire.

Five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police official, two Parliament watch and ward staff, a gardener and a camera person were among those who lost their lives in the attack.

"The nation is ever grateful to the martyrs who laid down their lives to protect the Parliament, the temple of democracy," the vice president tweeted.

Prime Minister Modi said the sacrifice of those killed will not be forgotten.

"We pay homage to those who laid down their lives protecting the temple of our democracy on 13th December 2001.

Their sacrifices will never be forgotten," he wrote on Twitter.

Union ministers Smriti Z Irani and Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore also paid their tributes.

"Homage to martyrs whose supreme sacrifice to protect our temple of democracy will never be forgotten by a grateful Nation. #ParliamentAttack," Irani said in a tweet.

"13th December, 2001. Today marks 16 years since the cowardly terrorist attack on our Parliament: the shrine of our democracy. I pay homage to all the brave security personnel who laid down their lives protecting it," Rathore said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp