After five party MLAs quit, former CM Lapang removed as Meghalaya Congress president

Congress President Rahul Gandhi removed former Chief Minister DD Lapang as state unit president and replaced him with Celestine Lyngdoh.

Published: 30th December 2017 06:09 PM  |   Last Updated: 30th December 2017 06:09 PM   |  A+A-

Former Meghalaya CM DD Lapang (File | PTI)


NEW DELHI: A day after five Congress MLAs resigned from the Meghalaya Assembly to contest upcoming polls on the ticket of NDA-affiliated National People's Party (NPP), Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Saturday removed former Chief Minister DD Lapang as state unit president and replaced him with Celestine Lyngdoh.

Lyngdoh is a cabinet Minister in Chief Minister Mukul Sangma's cabinet. Vincent H Pala, who is a Lok Sabha MP from Shillong, has been appointed PCC working president.

However, in a bid to assuage Lapang, Gandhi has appointed him as advisor of Pradesh Congress Committee.

Gandhi also appointed Celestine Lyngdoh as president of the 13-member Pradesh Election Committee for the upcoming assembly elections in the state.

Among the others who are present in the Election Committee are Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, Vincent H Pala, James S Lyngdoh, D.D. Lapang, Debora C Marak, MM Danggo, RC Laloo, Kennedy C Khyriem, Cherak W Momin, Charles Pyngrope, RV Lyngdoh, Joplin Scott Shylla.

In a setback to the Congress in Meghalaya, eight MLAs including five from Congress, on Friday resigned from the assembly to contest the polls on the ticket of National People's Party (NPP), which is part of NDA.

The Congress legislators, who include former Deputy Chief Minister Rowell Lyngdoh, former cabinet ministers Prestone Tynsong, Coming One Ymbon, Sniawbhalang Dhar and Ngaitlang Dhar submitted their resignation letters to Assembly Commissioner and Secretary, Andrew Simon.

Apart from the five Congress legislators, the other three are United Democratic Party legislator Remington Pyngrope, and Independents, Hopeful Bamon and Stephanson Mukhim.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp