Uttar Pradesh Assembly election: 57.36 per cent voter turnout recorded till 5 pm

Polling is on by and large peacefully in 51 Assembly constituencies spread over 11 districts of the state.

Published: 27th February 2017 08:05 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th February 2017 07:29 PM   |  A+A-

Voting will be held in 51 constituencies spread over 12 districts of Awadh and eastern regions.  (File | AP)


LUCKNOW: The fifth phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly polls saw a voter turnout of 57.36 percent till 5 p.m on Monday.

The voting is being held across 11 districts. The districts going to polls in this phase are Amethi, Sultanpur, Faizabad, Barabanki, Ambedkarnagar, Bahraich, Shravasti, Balrampur, Gonda, Basti, Siddharthnagar and Sant Kabir Nagar 

While there are 52 constituencies in this phase, elections are being held in only 51 seats as the  
Election Commission has postponed polls in Alapur after the death of a Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate Chandrashekhar Kanauji. 

Elections will be held in Alapur on March 9.

A total of 607 candidates including 40 women are in the fray. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has fielded its nominees in all 51 segments while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is contesting in 50 seats. The saffron party has left one seat to its ally Apana Dal.

The Samajwadi Party nominees are in fray from 43 constituencies and its ally Congress is contesting 14 seats.

Elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair polls. Six police observers have been deployed to keep an eye on security arrangements.

Over 1,600 hamlets and over 2,300 polling stations have been identified as sensitive and critical and special security measures have been made in these localities. Polling process is being webcast live from 1792 polling stations.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp