Voting underway for Rajya Sabha election in Goa

There is a straight fight between Goa BJP president Vinay Tendulkar and state Congress chief Shantaram Naik for the seat.

Published: 21st July 2017 01:14 PM  |   Last Updated: 21st July 2017 01:14 PM   |  A+A-


PANAJI: Voting is underway here for the election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Goa.

There is a straight fight between Goa BJP president Vinay Tendulkar and state Congress chief Shantaram Naik for the seat.

Naik, a sitting Rajya Sabha member, is seeking a third consecutive term.

As many as 18 legislators from the ruling group cast their votes after polling began in the Legislative Assembly building in Porvorim at 10 am.

During the first two hours, 36 out of the 38 legislators, who are eligible for voting, cast their votes.

The result will be announced later in the day.

The BJP has 12 legislators in the 40-member state Assembly. Its allies comprise Goa Forward Party and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party having three legislators each, and three independents, taking its tally to 21.

The Congress has 16 MLAs in the state.

Two MLAs – Siddharth Kuncolienkar and Vishwajit Rane had earlier resigned.

NCP MLA Churchill Alemao has kept his cards close to his chest.

Alemao yesterday said he would not like to disclose whom he was supporting.

Tendulkar had earlier expressed confidence about his victory. "The numbers are with us," he said, Naik also said he was hopeful of winning the election.

Meanwhile, the Congress legislators were huddled in a meeting this morning after it emerged that there was cross-voting in the presidential poll held on Monday.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp