Zeliang expands ministry, inducts 8 NPF, 2 BJP members

The expansion came a day after Zeliang won the floor test in the assembly and the NPF headed by dismissed Chief Minister Shurhozelie Liezietsu

Published: 23rd July 2017 01:49 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd July 2017 01:55 AM   |  A+A-

Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang (File | PTI)


KOHIMA: Nagaland Chief Minister T.R.Zeliang on Saturday expanded his ministry, inducting eight Naga People's Front (NPF) and two Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislators.

Governor P.B. Acharya administered the oath of office and secrecy to the ministers at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan, attended by Zeliang, the state's lone Lok Sabha member and former Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Speaker Imtiwapang Aier, NPF and BJP leaders besides government officials.

The expansion came a day after Zeliang won the floor test in the assembly and the NPF headed by dismissed Chief Minister Shurhozelie Liezietsu expelled 19 legislators and suspended 10 legislators on Friday night for violating the party's constitution.

Yanthungo Patton, Kipili Sangtam, G. Kaito Aye, Imkong L. Imchen, and Tokheho Yepthomi, who were among those expelled, and Neiba Kronu and Neikiesalie Nicky Kire, who were suspended, were sworn in as cabinet ministers.

Kejong Chang, who was also inducted, was the only one who did not face any action.

NPF legislator E.E. Pangteang, whose name was in the list too, did not turn up as his fellow party legislator Noke Wangnao protested.

Two of the four BJP legislators -- Imtilemba Sangtam and Mhonlumo Kikon -- were sworn in as cabinet ministers.

Zeliang was expelled from the NPF for six years after taking oath as Chief Minister on Wednesday, hours after Acharya dismissed Liezietsu for failing to prove his majority in the Assembly. 

Zeliang on Friday won the floor test, getting the support of 36 NPF, four BJP and seven Independent members in the 60-member assembly, where one seat is vacant.

Ten NPF and one Independent members voted against. Liezietsu was not present in the Assembly as he is not a member.

Zeliang is expected to induct some legislators as Parliamentary Secretaries on Monday besides allocating the portfolios of the cabinet ministers.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp