CPI(M) Central Committee to decide Yechury's RS term

Yechury himself has made it clear that he is not interested in getting a third term and will abide by party’s constitution.

Published: 07th June 2017 08:52 PM  |   Last Updated: 07th June 2017 08:52 PM   |  A+A-

CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury at a press meet in Thiruvananthapuram on Friday as state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan looks on | Express


NEW DELHI: The decision on third Rajya Sabha term for CPI (M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury is expected to be taken by the party Central Committee in its meeting scheduled in third week of July.   

The Polit Bureau, which met in Delhi, discussed the matter but it was decided that any decision will be taken when notification comes for Rajya Sabha elections, said Yechury, when asked about his candidature.     

“A decision will be taken, when elections are announced,” he said.   

Party sources, however,  said that the Polit Bureau decided to leave it to the central committee, which is party’s executive body, to take a final call. The central committee is likely to meet July 23-25 and a final decision is expected at that time.    

According to party’s constitution, no member can have two Rajya Sabha terms. Yechury’s second term ends in August. There is division among the party with Kerala faction opposing his candidature for a third term while West Bengal unit has passed a resolution supporting it.

Yechury himself has made it clear that he is not interested in getting a third term and will abide by party’s constitution.

The Election Commission on May 16 had announced biennial election for six Rajya Sabha seats from West Bengal. Of the six seats that fell vacant in the state, the ruling Trinamool Congress is certain to win five and on one seat Congress is ready to support Yechury’s candidature. The notification was later withdrawn by the EC.

The Opposition parties have been pushing for his re-election to Rajya Sabha because he is a prominent Opposition face and a powerful speaker to take on BJP in Rajya Sabha, where the ruling government is in minority.

To have Yechury in upper house is also important for the party as CPI(M) currently has eight members and two of its other members from West Bengal Tapan Kumar Sen and Ritabrata Banerjee are due to retire in 2020. After that party will not have any member in Rajya Sabha from West Bengal, which   .  

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp