After ten years in the wild, Punjab Congress MLAs hungry for ministries

Among the frontrunners for cabinet berths are cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu who joined the Congress just before the polls.

Published: 13th March 2017 06:30 PM  |   Last Updated: 13th March 2017 06:30 PM   |  A+A-

Congress workers celebrate the party’s thumping victory in the Assembly polls outside Capt Amarinder Singh’s residence in Patiala | PTI

Express News Service

CHANDIGARH: New Congress MLAs in Punjab are lobbying hard to get into the cabinet of Captain Amarinder Singh, which will be sworn-in on March 16 here. With the party coming back to power after a gap of 10 years, GOP lawmakers are a bit hungry.

Among the frontrunners for cabinet berths are cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu who joined the Congress just 19 days before the polls after having resigned from the BJP last year. Fifty-four-year-old Sidhu, a first-time MLA, is also eyeing the post of deputy chief minister, which he was apparently promised before he joined the party.

Capt Amarinder Singh has said the decision on having a deputy will be taken by Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi.

Amarinder is traveling to Delhi on Tuesday to meet high command leaders including Rahul Gandhi. His cabinet will be sworn in at Raj Bhawan here by Punjab governor V P Singh Bhandore on Thursday.

Manpreet Singh Badal, who too joined the Congress from Akali Dal last year, will be the finance minister, a post he held in the outgoing Parkash Singh Badal government too.

Besides Badal, the others in the race are Tripat Rajinder Singh Bajwa and former Olympic hockey player Pargat Singh. Both are Jat Sikhs from the Majtha and Doaba belts of the state, respectively.

The state can have a maximum of 18 ministers within which caste, regional and religious factors would have to be accommodated.

The other probabilities are Balbir Singh Sidhu from Mohali, Brahm Mohindra, a Hindu leader from Patiala, Charanjit Singh Channi from Chamkaur Sahib, Dr Raj Kumar Verka from Amritsar, Sadhu Singh Dharamkot, all Dalits. Also in the reckoning are Rana Gurjit Singh from Kapurthala and Rana Gurmeet Singh Sodhi from Guruharsahai, and first-time MLA Amit Vij from Pathankot.

Besides, former MP Vijay Inder Singla from Sangrur, Indian Youth Congress president Amarinder Raja Warring from Gidderbaha and Kuljit Nagra from Fategarh Sahib, all Rahul Gandhi’s favorites, are in with a shout.

Among the women lawmakers, the race is between Aruna Chaudhary, a Hindu, and Razia Sultana, a Muslim.

Former chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal, former leader of the Opposition Sunil Jakhar and former minister Jagmoahn Singh Kang missed out on ministerial opportunities as they lost their elections.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp