Five Maoists, who killed two CRPF jawans during LS polls in Bihar, sentenced to death

Additional Sessions Judge (I) Jyoti Swarup Srivastava also slapped a fine of Rs 25,000 on each of the convicts Vipin Mandal, Adhiklal Pandit, Ratu Koda, Wano Koda and Manu Koda.

Published: 25th May 2017 02:00 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th May 2017 08:53 PM   |  A+A-

Death penalty, Hanging

Image for representation only.

By Express News Service

PATNA: Five Maoists accused of killing two CRPF jawans and injuring 10 others in a landmine blast in Bihar during the 2014 Lok Sabha polls were on Thursday awarded the death sentence by a lower court in Munger.

The five convicts – Adhiklal Pandit, Wano Koda, Ratu Koda, Manu Koda and Vipin Mandal – will also have to pay a fine of Rs 25,000 each, ordered judge Jyoti Swarup Srivastava of the Munger additional sessions court.

The five Maoists were found guilty of triggering a landmine blast and then firing at a CRPF vehicle in Jamui district during the first phase of Lok Sabha polls in the State on April 10, 2014. The early-morning blast on the Haveli Kharagpur-Jamui main road passing through the dense forests of Bhimbandh wildlife sanctuary had caused panic among voters.

The Maoists had urged the people to boycott the polls in southern Bihar districts. Seeing voter enthusiasm in the days leading up to the election day, they had triggered the blast to discourage people. The six seats in Bihar that went to polls that day had registered a low 52 per cent voter turnout.

Two CRPF jawans – Som Gowda of Karnataka and Ravindra Rai of Bihar – had succumbed to their injuries on the way to a hospital and 10 other injured jawans survived after treatment at the Sadar Hospital in Munger.

All the six parliamentary constituencies where polling took place that day – Jamui, Aurangabad, Sasaram, Gaya, Nawada and Karakat – are located in Maoist-affected areas in the State.

Top contenders in the race were then LS Speaker Meira Kumar of Congress, Bihar Assembly Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary of JD(U), LJP’s Chirag Paswan, former Kerala Governor Nikhil Kumar of Congress, former Bihar minister Giriraj Singh of BJP and former Union minister Kanti Singh of RJD.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp