Gujarat Elections 2017: BJP releases second list of candidates

Yesterday, the party had announced 70 candidates, including Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel and state party chief Jitu Vaghani.

Published: 18th November 2017 09:07 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th November 2017 10:52 PM   |  A+A-

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah. (Photo: PTI)

Express News Service

NEW DELHI: The BJP on Saturday released second list consisting of 36 candidates for Gujarat Assembly elections. The party clearly showing faith in fresh faces has given tickets 19 first timers. The BJP has so far released names of 106 out of a total of 182 candidates for the poll-bound state.

The BJP had fielded 16 new faces in the first list. Seeking to extend the hold on the state further after being in power for 22 years, the BJP in its two lists so far has fielded 35 new faces. In the second list, the BJP has fielded 13 tribal and two Dalit candidates. The party has denied nominations to seven legislators so far. The BJP is expected to release remaining candidates for 76 seats in the next few days. Incidentally, the central election committee meeting of the BJP on Wednesday had approved candidates for almost all the constituencies.

While Patidar had been BJP's core vote base, the party is seeking to protect its core supporters by fielding candidates from the caste in a large number. The BJP has a block of 44 sitting MLAs hailing from the Patidar community.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp