Ex-Congress MLA, 11 others get 6-month jail in 2011 riot case

Virendra Raghuvanshi, who is now in the ruling BJP, and the 11 others, however, were granted bail by the court after their conviction yesterday.

Published: 28th November 2017 06:54 PM  |   Last Updated: 28th November 2017 10:35 PM   |  A+A-


Shivpuri (MP), Nov 28 (PTI) A court here has sentenced a former Congress legislator of Madhya Pradesh and 11 other leaders and workers of the party to six-month imprisonment for rioting and unlawful assembly.

Virendra Raghuvanshi, who is now in the ruling BJP, and the 11 others, however, were granted bail by the court after their conviction yesterday.

Chief Judicial Magistrate Shailesh Bhadoriya convicted them in the 2011 case and awarded them six-month jail term, Assistant Public Prosecutor Nirmal Agrawal said today.

The court also imposed a fine of Rs 500 on each of the convicts, he said, adding all of them were later granted bail.

The court found them guilty under IPC sections 353 (assault to deter public servant from discharge of his duty), 147, 148 (rioting), 149 (unlawful assembly) and 336 (endangering life or personal safety of others).

Raghuvanshi, a former MLA from Shivpuri, is said to be one of the claimants for the BJP ticket for contesting bypoll from Kolaras in adjoining Ashok Nagar district. The bypoll is expected to he held by January-end.

The incident took place on January 30, 2011 when Congress workers, led by Raghuvanshi, staged a protest over some issue during a programme organised to dedicate a hostel building at village Sesai Sadak under Kolaras tehsil.

State minister Narottam Mishra was the chief guest at the programme.

On a complaint by police personnel, a case was lodged against the protesters. It was alleged the agitators hurled stones that resulted in injuries to a policeman.

The other Congress leaders and workers convicted in the case are Kisan Congress district president Suresh Rathkheda, Youth Congress block chief Irshad Pathan, Rajkumar Raghuvanshi, Amit Sharma, Gaurav Sharma, Abdul Rafique, Keshav Dhakad, Rafique Khan, Matacharan Sharma, Ajay Sharma and Sohail Quazi.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp