BJP announces candidates for council seats in Bihar, Uttar Pradesh

The BJP announced for Bihar and Uttar Pradesh legislative council seats with an eye on social equations aimed at consolidating its votes.

Published: 15th April 2018 04:20 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th April 2018 04:20 PM   |  A+A-

Image used for representational purpose. (File photo | PTI)


NEW DELHI: Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi is among the 13 candidates the BJP today announced for Bihar and Uttar Pradesh legislative council seats with an eye on social equations aimed at consolidating its votes.

Among the 10 candidates for UP seats are Bukkal Nawab, Yashwant Singh and Jaiveer Singh, who had left rival parties to join the BJP after its win in the Assembly polls, besides Mohsin Raja, the lone Muslim minister in the UP government, the party said in a statement.

Bukkal Nawab is another Muslim candidate in the list.

In Bihar, two other candidates are Mangal Pandey, a minister in the Nitish Kumar government, and Sanjay Paswan, a former Union minister who hails from an influential Dalit community.

The candidature of Paswan, who was kept out of any important responsibility within the organisation for several years, underlines the saffron party's renewed vigour to win over Dalits in a state where they will be key in the direct fight between the BJP-JD(U) combine and the RJD-Congress alliance.

Other candidates for the UP polls are Mahendra Singh, Sarojini Agarwal, Vidya Sagar Sonkar, Vijay Bahadur Pathak, Ashok Kataria and Ashok Dhawan.

The MLCs will be elected by MLAs and BJP sources said all their candidates are likely to emerge victorious.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp