Jharkhand bypoll: Congress' Naman Bixal Kongari defeats BJP candidate by over 9,000 votes

The Congress candidate was ahead of his BJP rival from the first round, sources said.

Published: 23rd December 2018 05:24 PM  |   Last Updated: 23rd December 2018 06:34 PM   |  A+A-

Congress candidae Naman Bixal Kongari defeated the BJP candidate by over 9,000 votes in Jharkhand's Kolebira assembly (Photo | Twitter/RPN Singh)


RANCHI: The Congress won the Kolebira(ST) Assembly bypoll in Jharkhand on Sunday with its candidate, Naman Bixal Kongari, defeating his BJP rival by 9,658 votes.

The Congress nominee secured 40,343 votes while Basant Soreng of the saffron party polled 30,685 votes, an Election Commission release said.

With this victory, the Congress will increase its tally to eight in the 82-member House.

ALSO READ | BJP wins Jasdan bypoll; reaches three-figure mark in Gujarat Assembly

The seat fell vacant following conviction of former Minister Enos Ekka in the murder of a school teacher. There were five candidates in the fray.

The Congress candidate was ahead of his BJP rival from the first round, sources said.

The bypoll was necessitated after Enos Ekka of Jharkhand Party, who represented the constituency in the Assembly, lost his membership following his conviction in a murder case.

Others who were in the fray were Menan Ekka of Jharkhand Party, Anil Kandulna of Sengel Party and an independent candidate, Basant Dungdung.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha had announced support to Menan Ekka of Jharkhand Party while Babulal Marandis Jharkhand Vikas Morcha had supported the Congress candidate.


Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

  • kochappan

    Misleading. Even in the previous time just before this bye election BJP lost this seat.
    6 months ago reply
flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp