Kamal Nath loyalists dominate as 28 Cabinet ministers sworn in, Madhya Pradesh gets first Muslim minister in 15 years

Angered at their leader not being inducted into the Cabinet, supporters of Andal Singh Kansana, Congress MLA from Sumaoli, blocked the Agra-Mumbai highway in Morena.

Published: 25th December 2018 09:27 PM  |   Last Updated: 26th December 2018 05:39 AM   |  A+A-

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath addresses a press conference after assuming office in Bhopal Monday Dec. 17 2018. | PTI

By Express News Service

BHOPAL: Eight days after the Congress-led government assumed power in Madhya Pradesh, Chief Minister Kamal Nath constituted his council of ministers on Tuesday. Twenty-eight ministers, all of Cabinet rank, were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Anandiben Patel in Raj Bhawan in the afternoon.

Aqueel, MLA from Bhopal North, is the first Muslim minister in the state after 15 years.

Seven of the 28 ministers are former ministers, including Dr Govind Singh, Vijaylaxmi Sadho, Bala Bachchan, Sajjan Singh Verma, Hukum Singh Karada, Prabhuram Chaudhary and Arif Aqeel.

Striking a balance between all four major cities, the CM’s team has two ministers each from Indore, Bhopal, Jabalpur and Gwalior. According to sources, some names, including Kunwar Vikram Singh ‘Natiraja’, Rajyavardhan Singh Dattigaon, Deepak Saxena, and Hina Kanware were dropped on Monday due to lack of consensus.

Meanwhile, angered at their leader not being inducted into the Cabinet, supporters of Andal Singh Kansana, Congress MLA from Sumaoli, blocked the Agra-Mumbai highway in Morena district with burning tyres. The police dispersed the mob and removed the roadblocks.

Eight ministers are members of powerful political families. Jaivardhan Singh and Priyavrat Singh are son and nephew, respectively, of ex-CM Digvijaya Singh; Tarun Bhanot is nephew of ex-minister Chandra Kumar Bhanot; Sachin Yadav is son of former deputy CM Subhash Yadav; Surendra Baghel is son of ex-minister Pratap Singh Baghel; Umang Shingar is nephew of former deputy CM Jamuna Devi; Kamleshwar Patel is son of ex-minister Indrajeet Patel; and Vijaylaxmi Sadho is daughter of five-time Congress MLA Sitaram Sadho.


There are only two females in the cabinet-Vijay Laxmi Sadho from Maheshawr and Imarati Devi from Dabra.

The cabinet expansion was done after both Kamal Nath and Scindia held discussions with the party central leadership.

Congratulating the new ministers, both Kamal Nath and Scindia asked them to work towards fulfilling the Congress' commitment of ensuring the progress and welfare of the state.

The session of the newly elected Assembly is scheduled to begin from January 7.

(With IANS inputs)

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp