Rahul Gandhi gives only 15 per cent quota to women in CWC

This comes despite the Congress had been pitching for 33% reservation for women in the legislation under the Women Reservation Bill.

Published: 18th July 2018 06:28 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th July 2018 06:28 AM   |  A+A-

Congress President Rahul Gandhi (File Photo | EPS)


NEW DELHI: Only seven women leaders have been given space out of the 51-member list in the new Congress Working Committee (CWC), headed by Congress President Rahul Gandhi.

Members of Parliament, Ambika Soni and Kumari Selja have been nominated as members in the reconstituted CWC, while former Delhi Chief Minister Shield Dixit, Rajni Patil, Asha Kumari have been made permanent invitees.

Meanwhile, Congress MP from Silchar Constituency of Assam has been nominated as a special invitee for Chief of Mahila Congress.

This comes despite the Congress had been pitching for 33% reservation for women in the legislation under the Women Reservation Bill.

A total of 51 members were included in the new CWC, while first-time in charges of states were included as permanent invitees.

Senior Congress leaders Digvijaya Singh, Kamal Nath, Sushil Kumar Shinde, Mohan Prakash, CP Joshi and Shashi Tharoor have not been included in the new CWC.

The CWC includes 23 members, 19 permanent invitees, and nine special invitees.

The members include Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, Dr Manmohan Singh, Motilal Vora, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Mallikarjun Kharge, AK Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ambika Soni, Oommen Chandy, Tarun Gogoi, Siddaramaiah, Anand Sharma, Harish Rawat, Kumari Selja, Mukul Wasnik, Avinash Pande, KC Venugopal, Dipak Babaria, Tamradhwaj Sahu, Raghuveer Meena, Gaikhangam and Ashok Gehlot. (ANI)

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp