Uttar Pradesh: Voting for Kairana, Noorpur bypolls begins

Voting for the high-stakes by-elections to Kairana parliamentary constituency and Noorpur assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh began this morning.

Published: 28th May 2018 08:46 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th May 2018 08:49 AM   |  A+A-

Uttar Pradesh: Voting begins for Kairana bypolls

Voting begins for Kairana bypolls (Photo | ANI)


LUCKNOW: Voting for the high-stakes by-elections to Kairana parliamentary constituency and Noorpur assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh began this morning.

The Kairana bypoll was necessitated following the death of BJP MP Hukum Singh in February.

His daughter Mriganka Singh is the BJP candidate, pitted against Rashtriya Lok Dal's Tabassum Hasan (BSP MP from Kairana in 2009) who is also supported by the Congress, the Samajwadi Party and also claims the support of the Bahujan Samaj Party.

Kairana parliamentary constituency has five assembly segments -- Shamli, Thana Bhawan and Kairana in Shamli district, and Gangoh and Nakur in Saharanpur district.

READ | Polling starts in UP's Kairana, Kerala's Chengannur, West Bengal's Maheshtala and 11 other constituencies

Similarly, the by-election to Noorpur Assembly seat was necessitated by the death of sitting BJP MLA Lokendra Singh Chauhan in a road accident in February.

In Noorpur, the BJP announced the name of Avani Singh, wife of late MLA Lokendra Chauhan, as its candidate.

The SP has fielded Naeemul Hasan as its candidate.

The polling began at 7.00 AM and will continue till 6.00 PM.

According to the Election Commission, there are 16.09 lakh voters in Kairana.

This includes 8.73 lakh male voters and 7.36 lakh female voters.

Noorpur assembly constituency has 3.06 lakh voters.

In Kairana, there are 12 candidates in the fray, while from Noorpur there are 10 candidates in the field.

There are 2,056 polling booths.

The opposition hopes that by consolidating the anti-BJP votes, they will repeat the results of the Gorakhpur and Phulpur by-elections where the ruling party suffered an unexpected defeat, especially after Lok Dal candidate Kanwar Hasan pulled himself out of the Kairana bypoll fray and embraced the RLD (Rashtriya Lok Dal).

The ruling BJP on the other hand will make extra effort to retain both the seats to try and send a message to voters, party cadres -- as well as opposition parties -- that the drubbing in the Gorakhpur and Phulpur by-elections were a closed chapter now, and that it was still strong in western UP.

Counting of votes will take place on May 31.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp