MPs from TMC, YSRCP, BJP, SP give Zero Hour notices in Rajya Sabha

The first session of Rajya Sabha which commenced on June 20 will culminate on July 26. 

Published: 04th July 2019 09:44 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th July 2019 09:44 AM   |  A+A-

Rajya Sabha

Rajya Sabha. (File Photo| PTI)


NEW DELHI: Rajya Sabha MPs from Trinamool Congress (TMC), YSR Congress Party, BJP and Samajwadi Party (SP) on Thursday gave Zero Hour notices in Rajya Sabha over different issues.

TMC MP Shanta Chhetri has given notice over shifting of Gorkha Recruitment depot and Gorkha Record office from Darjeeling while YSRCP MP V Vijaya Sai Reddy demanded that a central team be sent to Andhra Pradesh in the light of severe drought there.

BJP MP Mahesh Poddar has given Zero Hour Notice in Rajya Sabha over ban on hand-pulled rickshaw in Kolkata while Samajwadi Party MP Surendra Singh Nagar submitted a notice over "deteriorating condition of farmers in the country".

The Zero Hour refers to the time immediately following the Question Hour in both the Houses of Parliament. During this hour, parliamentarians can raise matters of great importance without the mandatory ten days advance notice.

The first session of Rajya Sabha which commenced on June 20 will culminate on July 26. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp