Will spring surprise in Uttar Pradesh Assembly bypolls: Samajwadi Party

Samajwadi Party leader Arvind Singh Gope said the bypolls will set the tone for the 2022 UP assembly elections.

Published: 14th July 2019 09:38 PM  |   Last Updated: 14th July 2019 09:38 PM   |  A+A-

SP leader and former Uttar Pradesh Minister Arvind Singh Gope

SP leader and former Uttar Pradesh Minister Arvind Singh Gope (Photo | Arvind Singh Gope Facebook)


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party Sunday claimed that results of the upcoming bypolls to 12 assembly seats in the state will spring a surprise and it will grab the lion's share in the seats.

"Booth-level work has already been completed by party workers in most place. Like the bypolls to Phulpur, Gorakhpur and Kairana parliamentary constituencies and the Noorpur assembly seat, the results of the upcoming bypolls will also spring a surprise and the SP will grab the lion's share," SP leader and former UP minister Arvind Singh Gope told PTI.

The SP leader said the bypolls will set the "tone for the 2022 UP assembly elections", adding that their endeavour was to reach the last man in the village.

When asked about the break-up of the SP-BSP alliance, Gope said, "Despite the break-up of the alliance, there is no loss to the SP. Akhileshji is a large-hearted man. He had forged the alliance with a large heart. It was the BSP, which left us. We respect their views." 

ALSO READ: Mahagathbandhan over? After Samajwadi Party and BSP, now RLD to fight UP bypolls alone

The senior SP leader said forging the alliance was a major experiment and it was not necessary that every experiment succeeded.

The SP and BSP had announced their tie-up for the Lok Sabha polls in January this year, sharing 38 seats each and keeping the Congress out of the tie-up.

With the electoral tie-up between the Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party coming to an end after the Lok Sabha debacle, the bypolls to the 12 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh are likely to witness a four-cornered contest.

The alliance could bag just 15 of 80 seats in the state in the Lok Sabha elections this year, after which the BSP parted ways with the SP.

ALSO READ: Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav sacks party panelists

The Lok Sabha elections this year and the 2017 UP assembly elections were rather a triangular fight.

The Samajwadi Party had contested the 2017 assembly polls in an alliance with the Congress.

In the 2014 parliamentary elections, the BJP, Congress, SP, BSP and the RLD had contested individually in the state.

The upcoming bypolls to 11 assembly seats will be held as the sitting MLAs were elected to the Lok Sabha while the vacancy in Hamirpur was caused due to The disqualification of BJP legislator Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel following conviction in a murder case.

The assembly constituencies that fell vacant following the election of sitting MLAs as MPs are Manikpur, Iglas (SC), Zaidpur (SC), Gangoh, Balha (SC), Rampur, Jalalpur, Pratapgarh, Lucknow Cantonment, Govindnagar and Tundla (SC).

Meanwhile, state BJP media coordinator Rakesh Tripathi claimed that their party would emerge stronger in the elections.

He said, "Irrespective of the fact that the elections will be a four-cornered or multi-cornered contest, the BJP will emerge the strongest. We have learnt our lessons from previous bypoll defeats and the party has already started it poll preparations".

"The bypolls will also give an opportunity to the party to increase its tally in the UP Assembly and win from Rampur and Jalalpur, which we had lost in the 2017 assembly polls," he asserted.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp