Security cover of SP chief Akhilesh Yadav likely to be scaled down

Mulayam, Mayawati's security cover intact, 5 BJP leaders to have downsized cover.

Published: 24th July 2019 12:14 PM  |   Last Updated: 24th July 2019 12:14 PM   |  A+A-

Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav

Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav (Photo | PTI)

Express News Service

LUCKNOW: After a comprehensive review of the VIP protectees, under the umbrella of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs), Union Home Ministry has decided to downsize the security cover of around half a dozen UP VIPS including Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav.

The other leaders whose security will be reduced include BJP MLAs Sangeet Som and Sakshi Maharaj along with Yogi ministers Suresh Rana and Brijesh Pathak. Moreover, the security of Deputy CM Dinesh Sharma is also likely to be reduced.

While all the BJP leaders came to terms with Centre's decision, there was a huge ruckus by SP lawmakers in state legislature over downsizing of Akhilesh's security. A team of 22 National Security Guard (NSG ) commandos, armed with sophisticated weapons had been deputed with the SP chief as part of his Z+ category 'black cat' commandos security cover since 2012 when he took over as state chief minister and the Centre was being ruled by UPA-II. It was not immediately clear if Akhilesh will be accorded a scaled down security cover by some other central force or his central security will be taken off completely.

On the contrary, similar NSG 'black cats' cover of SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati will continue, say the sources. In fact, the Z plus security comprises of the deployment of 36 security personnel including 10 Black Cat commandos at a time. Each shift is of eight hours and in all 108 security personnel are deployed in the fleet of a single Z plus security protectee.

The Home Ministry reportedly took the decision on the basis of threat perception reports prepared by central and state (Uttar Pradesh) intelligence agencies, the sources said. The federal counter-terror force NSG, at present, has 13 prominent politicians under its cover, including Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, former UP CM Mayawati, current UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, ex-CMs Chandrababu Naidu and Farooq Abdullah among others.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp