Congress to contest 7 seats, JMM gets 4 in Jharkhand Grand Alliance

The four-phase Lok Sabha polling will begin on April 29 in the state.

Published: 25th March 2019 12:38 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th March 2019 12:38 AM   |  A+A-

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha's Hemant Soren.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha's Hemant Soren. (File | PTI)


RANCHI:  The 'Mahagathbandhan' (Grand Alliance) in Jharkhand on Sunday announced the seat-sharing arrangement among the Congress, the JMM, the JVM (Prajatantrik) and the RJD for 14 Lok Sabha seats.

"The Congress will contest in seven seats, while the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) will contest four and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) two. The Mahagathbandhan has left the Palamau seat to the RJD," Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee president Ajoy Kumar told reporters here.

However, RJD Jharkhand unit general secretary Sanjay Singh Yadav said the party did not accept the seat-sharing formula, which was decided in its absence.


"Our stand is clear. We will contest from Palamau and Chatra. If not given that, we will decide to field candidates in other seats," Yadav told a press conference.

He added that the Congress, the JMM and the JVM announced the arrangement "unilaterally without RJD's consent".

As per the seat-sharing deal, the Congress will contest from Ranchi, Khunti (ST), Lohardaga (ST), Singhbhum (ST), Hazaribagh, Dhanbad and Chatra seats, while the JMM will field candidates from Dumka (ST), Rajmahal (ST), Giridih and Jamshedpur and JVM will contest from Godda and Koderma seats.

Kumar said that the Grand Alliance believes that the RJD would accept the seat-sharing formula "to unseat the BJP government".

The four-phase Lok Sabha polling will begin on April 29 in the state.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp