Jitan Ram Manjhi, Chirag Paswan file nomination for Lok Sabha polls

Election to the four Lok Sabha seats - Aurangabad, Jamui, Gaya and Nawada - will be held on April 11.

Published: 25th March 2019 08:23 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th March 2019 08:23 PM   |  A+A-

Former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi

Former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi (File | PTI)


PATNA: Former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi, LJP leader Chirag Paswan, RLSP Bihar president Bhudeo Choudhary were among 60 candidates who filed their papers on Monday, the last date of filing of nomination for the first phase of Lok Sabha polls in Bihar on April 11.

Election to the four Lok Sabha seats - Aurangabad, Jamui, Gaya and Nawada - will be held on April 11.

A total of 16 papers were filed for Aurangabad Lok Sabha constituency, while 12 for Jamui, 14 for Gaya and 18 for Nawada that would go to polls in the first phase, Additional Chief Electoral Officer (ACEO) Sanjay Kumar Singh told reporters here.


Prominent among those who filed their nomination papers in the first phase on Monday are HAM(S) national president Jitan Ram Manjhi, Lok Janshakti Party parliamentary board chairman Chirag Paswan, BJP leader Sushil Kumar Singh and JD(U)s Vijay Kumar, the ACEO said.

Manjhi filed his papers for Gaya seat while Paswan filed his nominations for the Jamui constituency.

Scrutiny of nomination papers for the first phase will be carried on Tuesday, he said.

A total of 20 papers were filed on Monday for five Lok Sabha seats - Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnea, Banka and Bhagalpur - which would go to the polls in second phase on April 18, the ACEO said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp